I have to be so careful on how I word these casting calls. Sometimes the Casting Directors and the Casting Associates/Producers email me personally and ask me to post their casting calls.

And sometimes I get the casting from the Casting Agency sites and I don’t always like to post what there looking for because at time it can feel degrading to others. I don’t want people to think those casting calls come from me directly. 

I’m one of the casting bloggers that had a very hard time posting the casting call from ” This Casting Agency” they started out casting for the “Straight Outta Compton” movie…this is what the casting post asked for.

SAG OR NON UNION FEMALES – PLEASE SEE BELOW FOR SPECIFIC BREAKDOWN. DO NOT EMAIL IN FOR MORE THAN ONE CATEGORY:

**** Notice This is just the short version of the casting post I still have the full version on my website ****

The casting agency used an A, B, C, D scale to group the women. Here’s the breakdown:

A) “Hottest of the hottest. Models” (open to women of any race)
B) “Fine … Beyonce is a protoype here” (light-skinned women) 
C) African American girls … Medium to light skinned with a weave
D) “These are African American girls. Poor, not in good shape. Medium to dark skin tone.”

People were upset … since the “D” group was the only group associated with an economic class — “poor” — and it was made up of only dark-skinned, out of shape black women. 

As an African American woman I just didn’t feel right posting this casting call on my casting blog but I did post it because I’m a casting blogger and that’s what I do, I remember thinking when I first read the casting call for Straight Outta Compton saying there will be some major backlash about this and it was.

****** I’ve Never posted anymore casting calls from this agency anymore*****  “Sande Alessi Casting” This Was The First Casting Company for Straight Outta Compton.

I post the original casting call on the link below on July 17, 2014
The video that has everyone talking about this casting call is from Buzz Feed  “People Peview Casting Calls”
The Cast Of ‘Straight Outta Compton’ Explain That Really Racist Casting Call see below!
