Beginning immediately, Gmail users around the world have access to a ridiculously simple feature that could potentially be a life saver:

***** The ability to recall a sent ***** email.

Here’s how to enable Undo Send:

  • On the Gmail website, click the gear icon in the top-right corner and selectSettings.
  • On the General Tab, you should now see Undo Send listed as the tenth option.
  • To enable it, check the box next to Enable Undo Send.
  • Now choose the length of time you’d like to have the ability to recall your sent emails from the drop-down menu. Options include 5, 10, 20 and 30 seconds.

The feature is really quite simple; it basically configures a delay on your Send button. Instead of firing off your emails when you click Send, it holds them for however long you configure, and then sends them. This way, if you realize you sent something you didn’t mean to, you can recall it.

Once Undo Send is enabled, you’ll see this box at the top of the Gmail page after each email you send:

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 7.33.36 AM

Simply click the “Undo” link and your email will pop back up on the screen so you can make any necessary changes before sending it again.

Advertisements